Union County Commissioners Elect New Leadership PDF Print E-mail
Local Government
By Administrator   
Wednesday, 04 December 2019 12:35

TheUnion County Board of Commissioners elected Jerry Simpson Chair of the Board and Dennis Rape Vice-Chair of the Board.

Simpson has served on the Board since 2010. This is his fifth time being elected as Chairman. Rape was elected to office in 2018. He has served as Vice-Chairman since December of 2018.

“The selection of a Chairman is not an easy decision and I will tell you that you do a lot of soul-searching and a lot of thinking about who you want to serve in a leadership position on the Board of County Commissioners,” Simpson said. “I say that to thank each board member for their support. I'm humbled by that support.”

The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually for a term of one year. The Chairman presides at all Board meetings. The Vice-Chairman acts in the absence of the Chairman.

The Board of County Commissioners is the legislative and governing body of Union County. It consists of five members elected at-large. Commissioners serve four-year staggered terms. More information about the Board of County Commissioners can be found on the Union County website.

Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392