• Google Bookmarks
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • reddit
State Government
Highway Patrol Boots NC State Graduate Intern, Reviews Promotion Process PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Friday, 12 July 2019 08:54

On June 26, members of the State Highway Patrol received notification the organization’s promotion process had been put on hold due to an allegation the testing process had been compromised. Based on the serious nature of this allegation, an internal investigation was immediately initiated. Contact was made with N.C. State University, the promotion process Program Administrator, to make them aware of the complaint and to request that they conduct an independent investigation. 
“The integrity of the promotion process is of the utmost importance," said Colonel Glenn McNeill Jr., commander of the State Highway Patrol.  “For that reason, and in recognition of the potential impact to those members who participated in the current promotional process, I am providing the following updates."

  • N.C. State University is continuing its internal audit and we anticipate they will provide us their findings in the very near future.
  • On June 25, 2019, Ms. Unber Ahmad the graduate student who was employed by N.C. State University to assist with the promotion process, and who was also participating in the Highway Patrol internship program, was removed from the Internship Program and, since her removal, has had no further affiliation with the Patrol.
  • Based on the Highway Patrol’s ethical principles of creditability, integrity and fairness as it relates to the promotion process and its participants, I have decided not to publish the 2019-2020 promotion list provided by N.C. State University.
  • The entire promotion process is currently under review. Based on this review, we will take steps necessary to refine and improve the process used by the Patrol for future promotion opportunities. In addition, effective Monday, July 15, the promotion process will reside under the Professional Standards Section of the Patrol. 

“It is without question that this organization is committed to maintaining high standards of credibility, integrity, and fairness in each of its practices and the promotion process is no exception," said McNeill.  “Please know each step forward will be taken with great care to ensure that the process utilized for promotion opportunities is unimpeachable and in the best interest of our members.”

Last Updated on Friday, 12 July 2019 08:57
Cooper Signs State Disaster Declaration For Catawba, Mecklenburg and Surrounding Counties PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Thursday, 11 July 2019 09:44

Governor Roy Cooper signed a state disaster declaration for Catawba, Mecklenburg and surrounding counties, including Alexander, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, and Union, making additional assistance available to people affected by heavy rains that flooded homes and roads in those counties on June 7-10.

“This declaration will help those who do not qualify for disaster loans from the Small Business Administration,” said Governor Cooper. “We want to work to make sure people get as much help as possible to recover from this unexpected disaster.”

At the Governor’s request, the U.S. Small Business Administration granted a disaster declaration last week for Catawba, Mecklenburg and surrounding counties, allowing affected residents to apply for low interest SBA disaster loans. With the signing of the state disaster declaration, state funded grants become possible for individuals who do not meet the qualifications for an SBA loan.

More than 600 homes in Catawba and Mecklenburg counties were affected by the heavy rains in early June. Downed trees also caused damage to homes and blocked roads.

Two recovery centers are open through July 11 for residents to apply for assistance. Hours will be 9 AM to 6 PM on weekdays and 9 AM to 1 PM on Saturday. Centers will be closed on July 4, 2019.

Catawba County Disaster Recovery Center


Springs Road Baptist Church

3580 Springs Rd. NE, Hickory


Mecklenburg County Disaster Recovery Center

Charlotte Fire Station #33

2001 Mt. Holly-Huntersville Road, Charlotte

Applicants may also apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at disasterloan.sba.gov .


Businesses and individuals may also obtain information and loan applications by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 or 1-800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing, or by emailing Loan applications can also be downloaded at sba.gov, completed and brought to the recovery centers.

Last Updated on Thursday, 11 July 2019 09:47
Governor Cooper Signs Bill That Repeals Tuition Surcharge PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Thursday, 11 July 2019 09:30

RALEIGH: Governor Cooper signed the following bills into law:

*     Senate Bill 225: Repeal Tuition Surcharge 

*     House Bill 537: Alternate Highway Use Tax Vehicle Subscriptions 

*     House Bill 934: Right to Try Adult Stem Cell Treatments 

*     Senate Bill 219: Modify Teacher Licensing Requirements 

*     Senate Bill 55: Continuing Education for General Contractors  

*     Senate Bill 483: Vacation Rental Act Changes  

*     Senate Bill 610: Authorize Northern Peaks Trail 

*     Senate Bill 95: Veterans Memorial Funds/ Do Not Revert 

*     Senate Bill 556: GSC People First Language 2019  

Last Updated on Thursday, 11 July 2019 09:31
Senate Passes Loan Program For Rural Hospitals PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Thursday, 11 July 2019 09:24

The North Carolina Senate passed a bill that will provide low-interest, state-funded loans to financially struggling rural hospitals, allowing them to transition to a more sustainable model that will preserve services in these communities for the long term.

The Rural Health Care Stabilization Act sponsored by Senate Leader Phil Berger (R- Rockingham) and Sen. Jerry Tillman (R-Randolph) creates a loan fund for oversized and outdated rural hospitals that are struggling financially to transition to a “right-sized” facility on favorable loan terms. The bill allows for structured repayment terms over a seven year period to give hospitals a sufficient amount of time to successfully transition.

“Many of our rural hospitals were built in a different era, for a different population and payer mix,” said Berger. “This bill will provide them a tool to move to facilities that are more appropriately sized for their current population and scope of services, to return them to profitability and ensure that residents in our rural communities are still able to receive high quality health care close to home.”

Financially distressed hospitals in Tier I and II counties will be eligible to receive a loan upon submission of a detailed plan for “right-sizing” their facility to UNC Health Care. UNC Health Care will review the plan to determine whether it is a financially sustainable plan for the community where the hospital is located and make a recommendation to the Local Government Commission (LGC). The LGC will then review the applicant’s plan as well as the recommendation from UNC Health Care and make a final determination on whether to approve the loan.

“Keeping our rural hospitals strong for future generations is vitally important to our rural communities and their economic health,” said Tillman. “This legislation is a much needed lifeline for struggling rural hospitals like Randolph Health and ensures these hospitals will continue delivering outstanding care to their communities.”




Page 1 of 7
Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392