UNC Systems Names 2020-21 Presidential Scholars PDF Print E-mail
By Administrator   
Tuesday, 26 May 2020 13:40

UNC System names three NC graduates as 2020-21 Presidential Scholars


CHAPEL HILL, NC – The University of North Carolina System Interim President Bill Roper announces that three recent UNC System graduates will serve as Presidential Scholars for the 2020-21 academic year. Presidential Scholars serve a one-year appointment and provide a wide range of professional functions for the UNC System Office. The scholars will interact with the president, his senior leadership and members of the UNC Board of Governors, and contribute and work in areas that include education, public policy, research and data trends that affect higher education.


“The scholars earn valuable experience in preparation for promising careers in public leadership and provide key assistance to the UNC System,” Dr. Roper said. “The program has been a great success, and we are proud of each of these scholars for this great achievement. We anticipate a great working relationship with them in the coming year.”


Scholars were selected from among 2020’s UNC System graduates. Each of the applicants demonstrated leadership skills, intellectual curiosity and a strong interest in higher education and public service. The Scholars program goes beyond higher education and career development, exposing participants to the ideals of public service to the state. Scholars see firsthand how education legislation and university policy affect current students and state residents.


This year’s scholars class includes:


Annalee Banks

Western Carolina University

Bachelor of Science in History

Bachelor of Science in Political Science

Certificate in Public History


Liz Chung

University of North Carolina at Asheville

Bachelor of Arts in Economics

Minor in Mathematics


Najawa Huntley

North Carolina A&T State University

Bachelor of Arts in Political Science

Minor in Spanish


As the System Office welcomes this new group of Presidential Scholars, it simultaneously bids farewell to last year’s class. The UNC System wishes to thank Robert Boone, Alexis Landrum and Katharine Shriver for their contributions over the past year.


Last Updated on Tuesday, 26 May 2020 13:43
Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392