Ft. Bragg Consolidated Into One Federal Judicial District PDF Print E-mail
Federal Government
By Administrator   
Tuesday, 20 July 2021 09:34
Bipartisan legislation introduced by U.S. Representative Richard Hudson (NC-08), Fort Bragg's Congressman, and Representative Deborah Ross (NC-02), along with Senators Thom Tillis (R-NC) and Richard Burr (R-NC) has been signed into law by President Joe Biden. The legislation which consolidates Fort Bragg into one federal judicial district - the Eastern District of North Carolina - passed in the Senate on June 17, 2021 and in the House on June 23. 
"This commonsense legislation will help families at Fort Bragg by allowing all court cases stemming from the base to be heard in the Eastern District's courthouse in nearby Fayetteville," said Rep. Hudson. "As Fort Bragg's Congressman, I appreciate the leadership and support of Congresswoman Ross, Senators Burr and Tillis, and my colleagues on this bipartisan bill." 
Fort Bragg spans across six North Carolina counties: Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Moore, Scotland, and Richmond. Cumberland and Harnett are located in the Eastern District, while the other four counties are in the Middle District. Depending on where on Fort Bragg an infraction occurred, an individual would be required to appear in court 20 minutes away or up to 2 hours away. A similar redistricting occurred several years ago when Congress moved FCI Butner into the Eastern District.
"Consolidating Fort Bragg into one judicial district is commonsense for North Carolinians. This legislation will ease the burden of traveling miles to Durham, Greensboro, or Winston-Salem to resolve court matters and instead have the opportunity to be resolved in nearby Fayetteville," Congresswoman Ross said. "This is a no-brainer, bipartisan piece of legislation and I’m honored to work with my North Carolina colleagues – Congressman Hudson, Senators Tillis and Burr, and the entire delegation – to get this across the finish line." 
"North Carolina is the proud home of Fort Bragg, the largest military installation in the world based on population, which spans six North Carolina counties. The current judicial district boundaries split the base into two districts, resulting in some defendants being required to travel to Durham, Greensboro, or Winston-Salem to appear in court," said Senator Tillis. "This bipartisan legislation is a commonsense fix that will ensure all of Fort Bragg is included in the Eastern District to improve court operations and reduce hardship for defendants. I am proud to co-lead this legislation with Senator Burr and Representatives Ross and Hudson and applaud the entire North Carolina delegation for working together to get this legislation signed into law." 
"Since Fort Bragg spans across six counties, its judicial district boundaries are split into two," said Senator Burr. "This creates numerous logistical issues for North Carolina’s district courts and travel hardships. By consolidating Fort Bragg’s judicial district into one we will alleviate some of the confusion for service members and their families located at Fort Bragg. I applaud the bipartisan work to get this commonsense initiative across the finish line." 
Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392